Max Planck School

Max Planck School of Photonics 

As of winter term 2019/20 students of the Max Planck School of Photonics (MPSP) can do their qualification phase in MAOT to proceed with a PhD after graduation. Application for the MPSP has to be done via the application portal at the MPSP*s website.

What is the Max Planck School of Photonics?

The Max Planck School of Photonics is a nationwide graduate school and professional network offering a two-phase PhD programme to excellent students from all over the world.

In the first phase, successful applicants pursuing or holding a Bachelor’s degree obtain a Master’s degree from one of three teaching universities in Erlangen, Jena, or Karlsruhe. The first phase has a duration of two years and, if completed successfully, directly qualifies for entering the second phase.

The second phase is the research work on a PhD project. The main criterion for an applicant entering the second phase is an excellent Master’s degree in a subject with sufficient exposure to physics. The PhD project is conducted in a group of a MPSP-Fellow. The MPSP-Fellows are distributed amongst seven locations in Germany. Students can apply to any of the Fellows’ research topics. Changing locations between first and second phase is evaluated positively and emphasizes the network character of the school. The second phase of the programme has a planned duration of three years.

Throughout the duration of the whole programme, students will be supported – both financially through a scholarship or full-time employment in qualification and PhD phase respectively, as well as professionally through close supervision, a diverse workshop program and networking events.

Fellows from Erlangen at the MPSP

These are the fellows of MPSP working in Erlangen. Many of them give courses in MAOT. For all fellows in the MPSP please go to Link.

PD Dr. Maria Chekhova

Prof. Dr. Peter Hommelhoff

Prof. Dr. Nicolas Joly

Prof. Dr. Gerd Leuchs

Prof. Dr. Norbert Lindlein

PD Dr. Christoph Marquardt

Prof. Dr. Florian Marquardt

Prof. Dr. Philip St. John Russell

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Schmauß

  • Organization: Institute of Microwave Engineering and High Frequency Technology
  • Phone number: +49 9131 85-27213
  • Email:

Addition informations